Where did she go ? !

July was c r a z y from car issues to travel, but now I’m back 😉

To my GX classes, no more subs starting next week; I can. not. wait to see your beautiful faces (and work you, duh). Here’s a little update on everything from A to Z ~~>

Exercise, eating, DIY projects…..Where to start?!

-Exercise: How many times have you used the running shoes and gym clothes you pack when you go on vacation? I cut a deal with myself, 1 (and only one) work out per trip. Why? We all needa break, I find that when students take a break, they come back more ready to work than ever. Let’s explore my two work outs….

1. L$D run. My old cross country coach was a big fan of the long slow distance run: no time or mileage tracking. Just r u n, sweat and breathe. Not sure how far I ran, or how fast, but it felt REALLY hard….I even took a little break. Maybe it was the high altitude? Probably 😛 The greatest thing about L$D (run, ha) is learning how your body works. Once you gauge how ya feel, add the distance and learn about yourself. Ex. Miles 1-3 I struggle and want to quit, then at mile 5 something happens and I transform (mentally) into an olympic class runner who can run forever. This did not happen on vacation.

2. Yoga. The instructor was so namaste looking, thus I was so surprised to find that his mantra was ‘manage the pain.’ OW!  While I was in down dog I heard him coming my way &with one small adjustment my shoulder went ‘pop,’ he replied: that’s bonus. That must be what he meant about managing the pain, as it hurt so good. Try yoga! Don’t be scare on intimidated by all the ppl who can bend it like Beckham. Try telling the teacher: I am new and here to stretch, they will get it 🙂

-DIY: How can we make DIYing and cooking a career?!

1.Plant, or pot (depending on space) your own herb garden! It will change your life. Only a few casualties while I was away. RIP basil, jalapeño and rosemary. If you have a shady space, no worries, check this out http://bitesizegardening.com/2014/06/17/vegetables-grow-shady-gardens/

image7image8

2. Latest upcycle. Small spaces, little storage, no problem! Add a lil storage to your water room lol. How great would this space have been as a pantry?!?!?! Oh well. So, this cabinet was FREE on Craigslist, had a cute delivery driver (refer to snickerdoodles 😉 ) and was so much fun. If you are ballin on a budget, or just like saving $, check out home depots ‘OPS paint,’ these colors are ones they made mistakes on and are anywhere from 50-75% off 🙂 This blue was an OPS paint (10$ for a gallon for Behr) and is perfect!

cab0cab2paintercabimage9

-Eats: Eating out can be a love to hate kinda thing. I’d be a hypocrite if I told you to eat healthy on travel… but I can say eating out can be a great way to explore new flavors and find inspiration in your own kitchen. My cousin’s friend (Chef) cooked us up a tasty wine paired dinner ❤ OMG it was so good from the flavors, the perfectly paired wine, to the fancy dessert that tasted like fruit loops.

Chef genuinely loves cooking, and his creativity inspired me to get playful in the kitchen when I got home. Here were my rules: no measuring cups, no running to the store, no butter (one exception), no recipes and to cook whatever I was hungry for. Here’s what happened: Cauliflower mashed potatoes, spaghetti squash w pesto, cilantro lime quinoa w caramelized onions, salmon and snickerdoodles (refer to DIY storage section).

image2image1  image3 image4 image5 image6

It’s soOoOo great to be home! 11:35 am, I should probably get out of bed…. time to cook a bird (you should get a cast iron) http://cooking.nytimes.com/recipes/12428-splayed-roast-chicken-with-caramelized-ramps and learn some new RIPPED choreography for classes this month 😉

XO & happy Sunday!

p.s. Some things never change… how bout that 90’s kitchen my dad built. lolzbaker

Leave a comment