Gratitude (Again)

As I paused my morning from repeatedly watching videos of my little sis dancing to Taylor swifts ‘shake it off’ last night, I realized how a mere 2 hours with family instills a sense of overwhelming gratitude within me. 

Sissy’s newest pet is a polish hen, named ‘baby.’ Baby goes everywhere. Sissy cries when I tell her ‘baby’ can’t go in the car and dance with us. I love that my sisters favorite thing to do is sit in my car and dance. Thinking of my girl holding that hilarious looking chicken everywhere she goes makes me laugh. And makes me grateful. Grateful for my family and grateful that they are a phone call or an hour drive away. The milk duds and mineral water waiting for me on the dinner table alongside my meal didn’t hurt either 😉 

Then boom. As im enjoying my day, which is full to the brim w gratitude and love, I stumble across this article: http://www.bakadesuyo.com/2015/09/make-you-happy-2/

Please please please read! The cliff note version(which doesn’t do it justice)~~>

Here’s what brain research says will make you happy:

Ask “What am I grateful for?” No answers? Doesn’t matter. Just searching helps.

Label those negative emotions. Give it a name and your brain isn’t sobothered by it.

Decide. Go for “good enough” instead of “best decision ever made on Earth.”

Hugs, hugs, hugs. Don’t text — touch.

So. I am guilty of excessive texting to keep in touch. It’s easy& convienent.

On Tuesday one of my BEST friends and I made an effort to MAKE the time to catch up (life gets busy for our kind). And what do you know? The second we saw eachother and hugged we both were in tears. The funny part: her husband called it before it even happened. Do we still text excessively ? Duh. But the power of face to face interaction and touch is just, amazing. 

Ok, I’m off to send a text to request a phone date w my bestie and dinner with my brother.

What are you most grateful for?

Me? I’m most grateful for my family and friends. They ground me, understand me and complete me. I’m also grateful for the opportunities I’ve had thus far and this beautiful life I’ve created for myself. 

















Leave a Reply

